Almost There, Dad

Image

We are almost there! The book cover is a wrap! (ha ha ha) The preliminary interior proof has been approved as well. The only thing left to approve is a bonafide hard copy proof I will be able to hold in my hands.

The idea of holding a final copy is overwhelming. The culmination of years of hard work manifested into a 3D rectangle I can flip through and feel the wind of the pages on my face. Something that will take a place of honor on my bookshelf; something my kids can take to bed with them for some late night reading; something that has been known only to myself and a few others, that I can now share with the world. 

Why did I start writing Theo’s Mythic in the first place? There are many reasons, but two stand out. The first is for my father. He was one of the most brilliant artists I have ever known – so creative; yet he opted to support his family with a solid job as an accountant. God bless him for that. When he died in 2007, all I could think of was that he never followed his dreams. I was with him when he passed, holding his frail hand, crying in agony for not just what I was losing, but also for what my children, his grandchildren, were losing. Theodore was gone, but I vowed for him to never be forgotten.

The second reason is because, as a mom to three children, I wanted to write something for children that challenged them intellectually through sentence structure, vocabulary choices and a non-linear structure. My father never dumbed down the language he used with me and my sister. Rather, if we didn’t know a word, he kept a dictionary on the kitchen counter and would simply say, “Look it up.” And we did. I love him for that phrase. So I wanted to write something that would inspire kids to “look up” a word or two and be excited by a story that weaved its way around, like their complex imaginations, to an end.

My two reasons have a common thread – my dad. So my book dedication reads as follows:

To my Dad, Theodore, who taught me the meaning of countless words. 
The most important of which was, love.

We’re almost there, dad.

About crudolphbarlow

My goal in life is to bring smiles to millions of children through my writing and interactions with every child I meet - including my own. I'd also like to teach adults that kindness and respect are not options, but are must-have tools for a well-lived life. I am, and always will be, an eternal optimist. Peace! View all posts by crudolphbarlow

One response to “Almost There, Dad

Leave a Reply

